On average, a driver in the U.S. will encounter 4 accidents in their, meaning there’s a chance you would experience one every 18 years. Hopefully, the first crash you encountered was not deadly. Nevertheless, whether the vehicular accident was serious or not, it is still a traumatic moment for you. You could have injured someone else or damaged a property. It’s no secret that accidents would be tantamount to costly repairs.
So, today, to avoid future complications and confusion about car crashes, I will discuss on whether or not you file a police report. Moreover, I will also add how police reports work.
According to the law…
I guess your first question would, “When?” and that’s not easy to answer because different states have different rules regarding accidents. For instance, in Massachusetts, motorists are required to file a report if someone sustained an injury or if a property was damaged. The damages should be more than $1,000 for you to need a police report.
Meanwhile, in Alabama, a police report is a must if the accident led to the death of a passenger or a passerby. Moreover, the injury and damage to property should amount to $250. That is why it’s important for you to know what the law indicates for your own home state. You should know the laws of the state you are residing in.
Regardless of where you live, the best thing to do is file a police report no matter how small the damages are.
The situation may not “need” a police report.
Not all instances calls for a police report…
When everyone thought everything is settled, things take a wrong turn after a day or two. Initially, you may think that a police report is necessary, but there’s no guarantee. Later on, you would be surprised that you are being sued for injury or damage to property.
At the scene of the accident, the police can attest to what really happened. That’s why, whether if you have or have not caused any damage, it is best to call the police. Then, they can do the investigation themselves, and assess on who got injured, what got damaged, and so on.
Repair your auto glass immediately.
When a car accident happen, it could be a dreadful situation. Aside from personal injuries, you will be worried about the damages on your car and the damages to the other parties involved. A+ PLUS AUTO GLASS will coordinate with your insurance company because A+ PLUS AUTO GLASS understands the importance of your autoglass.
A+ PLUS AUTO GLASS accepts all insurance claims, and we are to say that we are the preferred auto glass shop for major insurance companies in the country. When doing an auto glass replacement, we strictly adhere to Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards.
At A+ PLUS AUTO GLASS, we only use O.E.M. Glass and adhesives to ensure your safety and security. Wether it is the hinges or windshield, we take every little detail with utmost seriousness because we want to check if the autoglass is working as it should. To inquire about auto glass repairs, please call A+ PLUS AUTO GLASS at 623-218-6844.